Friday Feature – Interview with William_Wilson

The 3rd Friday Feature of the growing FF Interviews. Warning: Interview may lack promised random.

The aim of these interviews is to allow people that don’t frequent other chat rooms to get to know mods in other areas of Kongregate and perhaps switch up their hangouts a bit. If you have any questions that you would like us to include go ahead and contact us or leave a comment.

Okay, kicking this thing off.
When did you join Kongregate and why?

I joined in July of 07 because a programming forum i am a regular on advertised more bloons as a good game

Ah, that was an alright game.
Okay, how long have you been a mod for?

Almost 4 months, since the end of October

In those 4 months, what has become your favorite and least favorite part about being a mod?
Being asked questions is probably the best part, being able to help out new users who just don’t know how the site works.
There isn’t anything I would say I dislike about being a mod, but some users seem to think they need to tell us what to do and it can be counter productive when dealing with spam or any other issue.
A user seeing someone say “why don’t you ban them?” doesn’t make the problem get any better

Backseat modding is indeed not helpful. Yes, some users can be slightly irritating. And yes, people always need help but some are afraid to ask.
So, enough about the Moddings. What keeps you coming back to Kongregate? (besides the mod duties, that is)

I like talking to the regulars, and i’m a perfectionist of sorts so having badges and cards to strive for helps lighten the tension of university

Ah, perfectionism. Quite nice when it doesnt end up wasting free time.
So, everybody has a life. What do you do for fun when you’re not on Kongregate?

I’m a programmer I spend a lot of time writing code in different languages. I even worked with Dazzer to correct and improve his badge sorting code (I sent it to him – he should be releasing it soon). I also break dance which I illuded to in the kongregate photo topic 🙂 Plus I love spending time with my girlfriend.

Breakdancing is awesome. Got a nice pic of that for your display picture there. Better than my sheep, anyway. Hm. Looks like I’m going down that whole programmer road. Seems easy and it’s the only thing that I find interesting.
Onto a slightly more unrelated topic, what’s the first computer game you ever played? Do you still play it?

The very first computer game i ever played was a key finding game my dad wrote for the Commodore64. It made noises and flashed when you got the key right and did nothing when you got it wrong.
As for commercial games the first computer game i played was called pipes. Basically you have a time limit and you place pipes to make the water flow as far as you can. It ran on Windows 3.1

Pipes? Seems they remade that for the 98. Pipedream. Was still quite boring. I did, however, get quite far in it when I was bored senseless. The first game I played was on the Amiga. Cant remember what it was, but I remember the Amiga had severely epic games. Better than games now-a-days.
Final few questions now. Do you have a role model?

My dad, he’s always had a good attitude and believed in me and my sister no matter what we do. He is approaching the age of retirement, but has no plans to do so. He is a busy man and a “fix everything” type. I do my best to be a fixer of things, people and situations.

Cool stuff. Gotta have somebody to look up to.
Okay, final part now. When and where can the Kongregation typically find you online?
Do you have any parting words of wisdom for them?

When I’m on kongregate I will usually be in my room (the Gibson). [I’ll leave my e-mail address out, I get enough random e-mails as it is]
Wisdom, no, I am not a person to be quoted, but users should respect the moderators, they are people too. Outside of kongregate they have their own set of morals and beliefs, but while on kongregate, our job is to uphold those of the site and they do there best to be fair to everyone.

That they should. So much for the random answers, though. This was some serious stuff.
Anyway, thanks for allowing me to carry out the interview! It was great fun.

well i could give you random if you prefer
7, yes, fire-hydrant, my gf, my computer, water, english literature, cout<<“hello”; lol

Haha, awesome. I would have settled for a cliched phrase, but that was great.
Thanks again for the interview.

nice meeting you, Mike 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Interviews

Leave a Reply

