Friday Feature – Interview with DingoEatingFuzz

The aim of these interviews is to allow people that don’t frequent other chat rooms to get to know mods in other areas of Kongregate and perhaps switch up their hangouts a bit. If you have any questions that you would like us to include go ahead and contact us or leave a comment.

What got you interested in creating flash content?
It started out with albinoblacksheep, a site many are familiar with. After looking at the content on that site I knew I could do the same if I had to software to achieve it. I talked to my uncle about this and he got me in touch with Flash. At first it was a challenge to even begin. Clearly this was going to be harder than it looked. I ended up putting down flash for a couple months out of frustration, but picked it back up in december 2005…I think.

So do you feel it’s tough to pick up or no?
I picked it up solo and it was a challenge. Grant you I was young, and an ameteur at computers in general, but I had definitely done easier things. Fortunately there are plenty of free resources online to aid any newcomer. There are a billion tutorials, a few I’ve even helped make.

So you’ve been at it for about three and a half years then. Are all your games up on Kongregate?
The majority of them. I have plenty of parts of games, expiriments, scraps, widgets, and “flapps.”

Heh, we all seem to end up with those. I remember playing Holzbach Cannon on NewGrounds, it was good for a laugh. So what about Kongregate; what drew you to the site?
True_Darkness, a now quiet user used to boom through communites being kongregate’s paper boy to help him level up. One of his links in the Newgrounds Flash forum actually hit me in the eye. I figured I might as well check it out and I loved it. The chat next to the game was the only hook I needed. The site has definitely grown since then into a bigger kongregation with even more features.

Yeah, I thnk the chat was a big hook for me as well. That and the badges. Okay, so you create flash content, but what other hobbies do you have?
In terms of computers I also do a fair amount of web design and am the webmaster of two websites (only one has actually been built yet). I am also a Boy Scout (recently had my Eagle board D:-), I am a percussionist in my award winning band at school, I occasionally play footbag (or hacky-sack to you outsiders), and I have an obsession of heel-clicking over things, no joke.

No kidding… So where do you get your ideas from for games?
Most my ideas either come from building upon other games, ideas my friends throw at me, or whatever hits me in my sleep. Another thing that I’m sure is common with game developers is that I have waaayy more ideas than I can actually follow through on.

I can imagine so. Either some are too difficult to implement or you just don’t have enough time, right? So any games coming up in the near future?
I can’t promise anything. I’m being pinned by my senior year of high school. So much work to do… but I have plenty of ideas in store from bizarre puzzle shooter games to epics that will push the limits of Flash.

Well excellent, I’m looking forward to it. What are your plans for college? Planning to get into professional design or something along those lines?
I’m looking at schools that have majors in game design, game programming, or equivalent majors. While the pool is small, I’m still having trouble with the choice, mainly because of financial reasons.

That’s entirely understandable. Keep in mind that in-state will likely be cheaper. Enough with school advice, though 🙂 What’s the story behind you becoming a mod?
I was an early user on Kong. I was playing games there back before there were card challenges, or Flash APIs, or even multiple rooms. The mod craze grew around me, and Greg asked me if I would like to be a part of the armada. Naturally I accepted

One of us, one of us…heh. Any suggestions for aspiring flash coders?
Stick with it. There is so much to learn, and so much you can do. With AS3 the language is even more versatile. Don’t give up, and try something new with every project. Oh, and also take lots of math courses, you can never do with enough of that. From physics, to AI, its important.

Well I’m in deep trouble. I suck at math 😀 All right, thanks for taking the time for this interview. I really appreciate it.
No problem, thank you for interviewing me. It’s an honor 🙂

And you can find DingoEatingFuzz hanging out in the Cafe at various times during the week.

Explore posts in the same categories: Interviews

Leave a Reply

