Friday Feature – Interview with PTGmach

The aim of these interviews is to allow people that don’t frequent other chat rooms to get to know mods in other areas of Kongregate and perhaps switch up their hangouts a bit. If you have any questions that you would like us to include go ahead and contact us or leave a comment.

Interview*suddenly formal* hello PTG, lets get this interview over with.
Yes, no need to have such a dreadful thing hanging over you any longer than necessary. πŸ˜›
Let’s see, let’s start simple. How’d you get your name?
PTGMach? Well, it’s a two-parter. PTG is short for Play Testers’ Guild. When I was living with my college buddies, we would buy bargain-bin games and fiddle with the rules. Occasionally even trying to contact the manufacturers in order to suggest fixes to them.. Mach… is short for Machetti. Which is an intentional misspelling of ‘machete’ in order to make that more closely resemble my surname.
And you said that you were going to be a mundane person to interview. You’ve got a background! So, what kind of games?
We played computer games, card games, board games, whatever in part because -of- that surname, I got the nickname “the machete”… .. but I’ve since shortened it to Mach. It’s easier, and less scary-sounding. πŸ˜› Less intimidating, maybe.
Anyhoo, what kind of games?
-All- kinds of games. Card games (Magic: the Gathering was a favorite. Guardians, Star of the Guardians, Hyborian Gates…) board games, computer games…
Nice…you should talk to Thalarion. Time for the moderator-themed questions! Who nominated you?
I haven’t talked to Thal much in a while. (i think i upset him. :P) Who nominated me? … I’m not sure that I think that should be public knowledge. maybe I’m hypersensitive to confidentiality.
All of the questions this sensitive?
Well, possibly. Maybe try one or two, and let’s see? Fine by me.
How about, let’s say, how long have you been modding?
Hm. Since the end of January, so a little over 2 months at this point. I’m not sure exactly when, though.
Cool, that is right when i joined Kongregate. What were your first reactions when you were asked to become a moderator?
My first reaction was along the lines of “ack!!! noo! i’m not cut out for responsibility!!” πŸ˜›
Sounds reasonable, But you used the word ackk! OMG! .. Anyway, how do you like being one?
Well, it has its perks. Or one perk, anyway. That being that some people act nicer when I’m around. Mostly, it -is- a weight of responsibility. Trying to weigh what’s right for each situation is tough.
A perk?
Heh, many just tell you to shut up πŸ˜› Some people take an instant dislike to you just because you represent authority. Others yell at you for not doing your job the way they think you should. And while I’m very willing to go to help problems in other rooms, it can be frustrating to be interrupted for such an unpleasant task. Honestly, I find that I wind up playing games at Kong a lot less because people expect me to keep an eye on chat.
Let’s hear one of your moderating stories. One that you’ll tell your grandchildren
Hm. Mod stories. … *scratches head* Make the story rhyme! Nothing? Sorry, on phone now.
Take ya time.
Someone is back! At least a little, at least temporarily, yes. πŸ˜› Cell lost signal. Mod stories, eh? Hm. I can’t think of anything particularly noteworthy.
How much time?
Meh, who knows. Maybe none, maybe 2 days. πŸ˜›
Story of my life. So, that was the last mod question. Is there a story behind your avatar?
My avatar. πŸ˜› I wanted something different than the default one. But I’m not real creative. Or more to the point, I’m not very motivated. So i took the Moderator M and took a negative of it. The blue M works well for Mach. πŸ˜‰
An unmotivated moderator with little creativity, and no sense of responsibility. Odd…. by the way, cool avatar:D
Oh no, I have a sense of responsibility. A rather strong one, maybe. And that makes me wary of accepting responsibility because i don’t like to fail at it.
Fail? Well, you seem to be doing a good job.
Well, thank you. I like to think I’m doing a proper job of it. But I still wonder sometimes what other people think of my performance.
You’re my second favorite mod, and time for a new set of questions.
Oh, and i can spy on them for you.
So, what do you do outside of kongregate? If you have to lie, please do. I’m not interested in your offer to spy, but .. thank you for your willingness.
What I do outside of Kong: I make and deliver pizza. I sing with an a capella group. I play other games. I like to have fun…
This shouldn’t be an interview…I’m making this into a novel. (long pause, he had another phone call) Well, what else is there?
OOh, er. Well, I told you mostly. πŸ˜› I like to have fun. Less frequently, I play volleyball, or go camping, or roadtripping. I love to meet people from online. Or go clubbing…
*unaffected* so, you’re really choosy bout your friends, as well. After this hour or so, this interview may be coming to a close. Any last comments?
I suppose I’m a bit choosy, yes. I tend to not add someone as a friend unless I feel I’ve connected with them. Not because I don’t like other people, just that my friend list means more to me than just a list of everyone I talk to. All cool.
LAST QUESTION! How’d you get into Kongregate?
Well. Do you want the short answer or the long one? πŸ˜›
All three. I’ll let you decide.
Well, I often visit with some friends from the PTG. Play games w/ them, visit them and their kids. They play at Kongregate as a varied distraction. Told me about it, sat me down in front of it one night as they put their boys to bed… And when i got home, I registered for myself. πŸ˜›
And you lived happily ever after?
They did. I’m still working on mine. Oh. You were talking about my account. πŸ˜› I wasn’t.
What were you talking about, before we get confused.
Life. “And you lived happily ever after?” I just meant that I’m still working on my happily ever after. I was working on a cliche there.
This seems like a good place to wrap up.
I just took it a little more seriously than you meant it. πŸ˜›
Well, nice talking to ya’
I’m honored to be interviewed for the site. thank you.
Hell, it was your hour too.

Explore posts in the same categories: Interviews

One Comment on “Friday Feature – Interview with PTGmach”

  1. venzael Says:

    Oh no! You forgot to ask him where he lives! I think he lives in the Cafe.

    Another great review as usual πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

