Tuesday Special – Interview with Valkyrie

In light of the room ownership changes that occurred yesterday on Kongregate it seems fitting that we have an interview with one of the more well-known room owners today. Enjoy! 🙂

You seem to have quite the varied history on Kongregate. Tell me a little about that.
In December 2006 my siblings, their children, cousins and I gathered together for a family function. My father was looking for computer games for children and he found Kongregate. So he gifted all of us with an account. That is where I started. But Kongregate was still in alpha then and the account somehow got deleted and I had to make a new one in Feb. And I have been here ever since.

Kiss those referral points goodbye. So how did you get involved with the moderation side?
I am not sure if dad was aware of the referral points, but to be fair it would have been quite a bit so I would not be surprised if the admins thought that he was scamming or something and deleted the points.
With moderation, it was a combination of things. The time I used to spend on kong was close to 60 hours a week, so I got noticed I guess. But I really have to say that it was a nomination from another mod which got me the Position. I did not want it initially, but two other friends convinced me that I could do a good job.

Why does that sound familiar…? Now from what you were talking about this morning (4/15) it seems like you’ve jumped around to a lot of rooms. How many rooms have you actually moderated?
Well.. just three prior to The Hall of Odin. The Van, then the Barrens and then Café Kong. Now .. Valhalla! But I do visit as many rooms as possible, And all room owners are friends So I do make it a point to visit them at least twice each week.

What’s with all the room hopping? Why did you leave the cafe.
There are several reasons. My initial involvement with Kongregate is similar to the role of a Hostess. I make people feel welcome, feel comfortable and let them have fun. So it is like team building. Now that the Cafe has reached the point where I can no longer provide anything more and the people there can really throw a party, I can contribute better else where and make another room vibrant and active. It is all unofficial of course.

So you see yourself as a community builder?
No. Far from that. I only wish to see people have fun and share that fun. So with the responsibility handed to me, I help newer rooms set goals and standards for themselves and help them have a moderation pattern that is not too harsh nor too complacent.

Seems like a sound idea. Why did you choose The Hall of Odin?
Can you think of a better room for a valkyrie? Lol. But seriously.. it was chosen for me. It was felt that The hall was where I would be of good help. So I took it up.

Yeah, didn’t think your name had Nordic connotations. Emotions seem to be running fairly high in the Cafe about the change. Why do you suppose that is and what words do you have for the Cafe residents?
The Cafe is a very nice place. It is not one individual there who defines it, but the entire group. I considered this change because I know that the people there are the Best. No contest there. The emotions there are not negative. Just positive ones, looking forward to new and vast vistas, emotions of ambition, of pride and certainly a sense of Achievement. My word to them? Sorry no.. they have to offer their advice and support to me.

The people make the room, not just the room owner, then?
Absolutely. In my personal life as well , I have always believed that it takes the goodness in one person to bring out the goodness in another. So If the Cafe is doing well… it is because it has great people.

What makes Kongregate so special?
Think about it.. what do most people do when they get together? Play games like pool or poker or bowling or even jam on the Console. So Kongregate is just an extension of it. You get together online and play some games. So it does become a very social place.

And how about the users? Obviously you’re going to get a few bad eggs here and there but what’s your take on the group mentality?
That is a part of any social structure. When ever people band together there are going to be a few who want to do things their way or want to just irk others. But rules and regulations exist to let the group have fun. So as long as it is not disturbing the group I can tolerate it. But not if it gets really troublesome or offensive.

Then it’s the proverbial “boot to the curb” maneuver. How can the users help Kongregate make things better?
I would just encourage every one to be civil and polite. That way Kongregate will spend time developing games rather than crowd control mechanisms. And with awesome games every one wins.

Indeed. You know how everyone has those lists of things they would like to do before they have kids/die/turn40. What’s on your list?
I would like to go to the top of the Eiffel tower, Ride a Formula 1 car, atleast participate in the Iron Woman Triathlon and get the Impossible badge in DTD.

You’ve mentioned a fair amount of outdoor activities in chat, such as the iron woman events and surfing. What all do you do outside of Kongregate?
Blame it all on a wasted youth. I used to spend more time outside of school than in it. I used to do a lot of Show jumping (on horses to be clear), Archery, represented my school in Taekwondo, rowed for my college, volleyball, surfing swimming and some motor sports. I love the water and I do enjoy any activity in the water. Other than that I also play chess, tennis and Pool in the amateur level. Another sport that used to participate in is something that Americans might not know of Cricket.

Heh, the only kind of pool I ever seem to be able to play is with slop rules. But Cricket looks like good fun, too. You’ve mentioned cars in the past. What would be your dream car?
I like vintage cars. So anything from the 20s would be my dream come true. I have a special affinity for a car called Pierce-Arrow. They were the epitome of luxury. Even back in the 1923 they cost as much as $30,000.

Vintage cars are a favorite of mine, though I tend more towards the ’40s and ’50s American cars. I don’t think we’ll be seeing that Pierce-Arrow on your Amazon wishlist any time soon, though. What advice would you offer to aspiring moderators?
Lol.. It is one of the most luxurious cars ever made. Not many people know of that. My advice to aspiring moderators is to remember that to be made a moderator is to be given a responsibility, not a privilege or a prize. They are trusted to keep Kongregate a happy place. There is nothing wrong with asking to be made a moderator, but don’t let that distract you from having fun on the site. You do not need to be a moderator to have fun.

Too true, that. Kongregate seems to be a home away from home for you. Given the opportunity, would you ever want to get more involved with the site?
I would certainly pursue the option if I was trained in computers and programming. I help out any way I can so I would not mind more involvement in any level.

Okay, last question. So what’s in the future for Valkyrie?
The future is a scary place so I do not want to think about that. But seriously I have in mind a website that will be a home page for Cafe Kong, The Gibson and The Hall of Odin. It will be a place where we hold contests, and organize events and do such stuff. That will happen in the very near future.

What are the games that you enjoy playing on Kongregate?
I like playing Newgrounds Rumble by Negativeone, Pillage the Village by Arcane coder, Nodes by Eggy, The Chalice by Denvish and of course I relax with Boomshine.

Excellent, I’m looking forward to it. Thanks for the time in the interview, Val 🙂
Thank you for taking the time to talk to me Thalarion. Do visit us in The Hall of Odin sometime.

Explore posts in the same categories: Interviews

9 Comments on “Tuesday Special – Interview with Valkyrie”

  1. doctormarmalade Says:

    thal, your rather sneaky. i hadnt seen this on the drafts.

  2. thalarion Says:

    I know, I know. I’m a bastard like that.

  3. doctormarmalade Says:

    anyway, I thought that i was the “defining character of the café”

  4. Nadroj09 Says:

    I guess you thought wrong 🙂

  5. Anonymous Says:

    How do you get to be a Room owner?

  6. thalarion Says:

    Once you become a mod you just have to ask greg and he’ll get you set up with a room.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Ok. How do I get to be a moderator? Whose attention do I have to get in order to be “Noticed”?

  8. thalarion Says:

    There are several resources available to you regarding this topic:
    FAQ
    Forum discussion
    And some personal advice. If you want to be noticed by a mod just hang out in the rooms they are in. Help out with the chats but step back when the mod needs to take action or does take action. Be mature, be polite, and get involved with the conversations and help keep those conversations relevant. You’ll get noticed quickly enough. But also consider why you want to be a mod. It’s a volunteer job and you get a lot of fans but you may also end up with just as many haters and griefers. You have less time to play games as you’re getting called from room to room to try and keep them civil. Mods have no more rights or privileges than regular players but they do have many more responsibilities. That being said, if you want to help out the community for the right reasons the help will be welcome.

  9. Ang Says:

    Val is awesome. one of the nicest ppl I have met on Kongregate.


Leave a Reply

