Friday Feature – Interview with Takumashii

The aim of these interviews is to allow people that don’t frequent other chat rooms to get to know mods in other areas of Kongregate and perhaps switch up their hangouts a bit. If you have any questions that you would like us to include go ahead and contact us or leave a comment.

Hello, Mr. Takumashii. Lets start this interview. (with a bang, if necessary)

fire away

How’d you get into Kongregate?

I was at work one day going through the StumbleUpon games category, and I found Tactics Live! or whatever that game is called.. and since I’m as obsessive compulsive as the next gamer, I registered so I could win badges.

A humble beginning for such an epic mod. priceless. you mentioned badges, and I’d like to ask ya how much of a hold they got on you.

In terms of just how obsessive I am about them? Well, as with pretty much anything, I tend to stick to something until I complete it. Usually if I start something I don’t put it down until I’ve ferreted out every hidden chest and maxed out all the abilities and.. etc. You get the idea.

As for me, i have oh so little determination. Thats why I’m only level 11. How’d you get your name?

It’s a semi-long story that involves a nickname I had for a character on a game back in the day.. that character’s name was Takphius, and when time came to make a new character, I wanted a cool-sounding named that started with “tak” because I was used to being addressed as such.. I flipped open a Japanese-English dictionary and leafed through the T’s until I found Takumashii. Sounded cool, so I stuck with it ever since.Takumashii(private): Oh and before you ask, it means “strength of character” or “moral strength”.

Well, seems a little like moral strength of addiction :D. Do you play any games outside of Kongregate?

In terms of flash games? No.. in fact, I normally despise flash games; I’m just a sucker for earning badges and watching numbers get bigger. I play computer and console and Nintendo DS games on the side, but not lately. Oblivion, Super Smash Bros. Brawl, Advance Wars, for instance.

Yay for brawl! ANYways, you seem to have a pretty bond to mostly harmless. What’s there that keeps you comin’ back?

The same thing as the rest of the regulars.. AlisonClaire! But don’t tell her I called her a thing.
Seriously, though? I like it here; it seems to have a pretty high percentage of active and mature users, and that makes my pseudo-job easier.

Psuedo-job? What do you do in real life?

I’m doing it now. 😛 I just quit my job at a tech-support call centre and I’m going to be paid by my university this summer to do full-time research on my thesis.

AHHH! work! How does Kongregate fit into your day? I must see you once a day.

Well despite the beautiful weather outside, I spend quite a bit of time at the computer or in close proximity to it. I’m a big dork and have a dual-monitor setup so I usually keep an eye on Kong regardless of what I’m doing (playing a game, watching a movie, etc.)

Time well spent! So, how long have you been moderating for?

I have no idea. You’d have to ask the admins. A month?

Accuracy for the loss. What was your first reaction when you got asked to be a moderator?

Well I had insider information about being nominated, so I wasn’t terribly surprised. It felt good, though. Nice to actually have the clout to back up my dire threats.

I fear you. Thats is why you make a great mod 😀 Did you accept without a thought, or what?

Pretty much. Being a mod is like any other voluntary position… it’s only as difficult or as fun as you want it to be. I choose to take my responsibilities more or less seriously and do a decent job, and it’s fun. 😛

Nice to see how little tensity you take the position of moderator as. What do you like the most about your job? The least?

I like being able to help people out when they call on me to come deal with a spammer or troll in another room, and being able to keep my own house clean. That’s another reason I’m around a lot: I like being available to help out. I dislike the fact that almost *everyone* that is banned will come back an hour or a day or whatever later and profess complete ignorance and innocence, wondering what they possibly could have done to be so unfairly banned. Those people are usually the worst spammers/cursers/racist trolls around, and their professed ignorance cuts me like a knife.

…But you cut them with a banhammer, so its even! Do you have any thoughts on owning a room?

It’s more of a pulverizing motion. Not really, no. It would take me forever just to come up with a satisfactory name… and besides, I was modded so I could help AlisonClaire out, and I couldn’t just abandon her to the mercies of the younglings and trolls.

You speak of AlisonClaire as if she a damsel in distress. Anyway, what do you think of Kongregate’s 13+ rule?

She’s a tall lass, she can take care of herself… but I still feel obligated to help out. :p Hmm I’ve given the 13+ rule some thought, and I think it has to be taken with a grain of salt. Sure some young whippersnappers would be more mature at ten or eleven than many of the eighteen year-olds on the site, but it’s hard to account for that sort of thing. Bottom line is, the admins made the rule long before I was around, and I don’t really know their reasoning, so I don’t have much of a position from which to judge the rule. All I’ll say is that I started chatting when I was a wee lad of eleven or so, so I do have some sympathy.

Any opinions on the new user-moderation system?

I haven’t heard too much about it, but it sounds like it would be a good idea in theory. I just wish it wasn’t necessary to waste the time creating one.

I’m gonna move away from the moderator questions now. So, what badge are you most proud of?

Frolic in the badges!

I’d say it’s a three-way tie between Super Crazy Guitar Maniac Deluxe 2, Fold, and Ring Pass Not. SCGMD2 because it’s one that people always brag about, Fold because I love that damn game so much it hurts, and Ring Pass Not because it devoured two weeks of my life.

Do you have a favorite game developer?

I don’t know many personally, but based purely on the game, I would say whoever made Fold. His name escapes me.

How did you and AlisonClaire meet?

I have no idea. I was probably randomly thrown in this channel when I started playing, and since I talk a lot, I’m bound to get noticed. Since it’s her channel, she was one of the people who noticed a new noisy fellow who started devouring badges and complaining about Challenge #4 in Bot Arena 3.

Any final comments before I leave you to your business?

Go play fold 😛

Your point is rather clear. Nice interviewing ya, see you ’round.

Time for hackey sack. seeya.

Explore posts in the same categories: Interviews

2 Comments on “Friday Feature – Interview with Takumashii”

  1. ExtremePopcorn Says:

    Just as a side note, the 13 year old rule isn’t because the admins want it that way, it has to do with COPPA regulations.

  2. thalarion Says:

    Won’t somebody PLEASE think of the children?


Leave a Reply

