Friday Feature – Interview with Venzael

The aim of these interviews is to allow people that donโ€™t frequent other chat rooms to get to know mods in other areas of Kongregate and perhaps switch up their hangouts a bit. If you have any questions that you would like us to include go ahead and contact us or leave a comment.

What caught your interest about Kongregate and why did you decide to stay?
Hm, a friend linked me to Desktop Tower Defence and that had me hooked for a while, although I refrained from getting account for a while. I showed Jonno_Gradian DTD and he made an account so of course I made one a while later. Almost three weeks, in fact. There I met a few nice people, including Dragily, the Scribbles mod. I guess it’s those nice people and games that are responsible for staying.

You stuck around Scribbles for a while after that, I noticed. All right, as the new owner of the Cafe are you encountering people expecting you to run things like Val? What sort of ground rules have you established?
Not many people have said outright “Better run it like Val,” although there was a little disappointment about Val leaving, most people seemed to be accustomed to me now. I like to think that the Cafe hasn’t changed too much.
Rules? I don’t like spamming (do any of us?), don’t mind low-level cursing towards games (damn, 199 Doeos!) but have a very low tolerance for flaming and zero for racism and anything derogatory. Oh, also I try to keep spoilers to a minimum, but I’m not sure it’s working ๐Ÿ˜›

Spoilers? Good luck with that one ๐Ÿ˜€ So you’re a student and you’re in Australia…what’s there to do for fun in your neck of the woods?
Ahh, Australia. Essentially it’s on fire, most of them time. Especially to any English people (15 degrees C is pretty cold here). For fun, pretty much the same as elsewhere, I guess. Go out with friends, school, hang out in the city. You can pretty easily get to the beach if it’s hot and so on.

Sounds a bit like where I live, though not nearly as hot. Given a choice, what one place would you want to travel to in the world?
I’m not sure why, but I really want to visit London or Ireland at some point :3

Ireland would be cool indeed. Now what do you want to do after you’re out of school?
Not particularly sure. I’m looking at possibly Psychiatry, some sort of science or (stretching it hugely) teaching.

Heh, you have my sympathy. I got my bachelor’s in Psychology ๐Ÿ˜› I’d like to hear about an interesting person you’ve met, if you’re willing. Why were they interesting to you?
On Kongregate? It’s hard to pin it down to just one person, everyone’s interesting in someway or another.
Of course, this isn’t really answering the question, but I find that there are so many curious game comments that make absolutely no sense; the people that wrote them would have to be interesting ^.~

Way to be evasive, bud. Okay, you’ve been a mod for how long now? What sort of issues do you run into in the chat rooms?
I’ve been a mod since about the end of January. About 95% of issues I run into are just generic trolls: Flaming, swearing, spamming and so forth. Pretty simple to deal with. Occasionally you get Lv2 trolls that come back with alts. That’s always fun. To those trolls: You can’t actually win.
Sometimes you run into gray areas and you just have to use your own judgment there.

Boo for alts. What time are you typically on? And I assume that’s…+10 GMT?
Usually I’m on anywhere from between 5pm and 10pm weekdays and on and off anywhere from 8am to 11pm most weekends.
And yep, it’s GMT+10. Crazy. I experience days before almost anyone else!

Hah, lucky guess on the time zone. I’ve noticed that mods have to walk a pretty fine line about managing troublesome users and keeping a happy room with happy chatters. Do you feel there are any features that could be implemented that could help out with this? And speaking of which, what are your thoughts on the user moderation system?
Far as features go, I really can’t imagine things. Censoring doesn’t really help, after all they’re still saying bad stuff, just with a sheet in front of it. And besides, so many ways have been found around it. Without active mods, I like the idea of a group vote to mute someone. That may do the trick, although fine details will have to be thought about it. My feelings towards User Moderation are positive, but with many silent and AFK players all over the place, group votes may not be that easy; I don’t think us moderators should be removed so quickly ^.~
Of course, I haven’t kept completely up to date with this, so there may be developments I’m not aware of.

Oh jeez I hope they don’t remove the mods… Speaking of which, what advice would you give to people that are looking to become mods on Kongregate?
Ah-ha, good question. Biggest piece of advice I can give is: Don’t try really hard to be a moderator. Remember, we’re serving the community and you can do that without an M. Be yourself, act maturely. Fetch mods if things get out of hand and you’re basically modding yourself. If you show maturity, responsibility and have a likable personality, chances are you’ll get noticed sooner or later. But I really can’t stress it enough; Don’t try to be a moderator and be yourself ๐Ÿ™‚

Well cool deal, thanks for the time!

Explore posts in the same categories: Interviews

4 Comments on “Friday Feature – Interview with Venzael”

  1. Valkyrie Says:

    Awesome interview. And I like the advice for mods.

  2. hoodlum4hire Says:

    Indeed Val, although few people know the true Ven behind the mask. He is actually a retired accountant, whose lethargic attitude towards daily life has left him a helpless crippled wreck. He truly is a twisted sadistic person. In other words…he broke the epilates off my new jacket. T.T

    (btw, he’s not as nasty as I made him out to be ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    (Although he IS an accountant!!! =O)

  3. hoodlum4hire Says:

    Ven has corrected me, to his immeasurable delight. They ARE in fact spelt “epaulletes”. I sincerely apologise. (Accountant!!!)

  4. Valkyrie Says:

    A accountant eh? How shocking? What is this world coming to? I mean.. since when do accountants qualify to enroll themselves in Game sites? And an accountant room owner at that. Truly Despicable.

    *grin* Way to Go Ven.


Leave a Reply

