Interview with malkes

hello

Ah, yes, the malkes!

How are we?

we are well

and yourself?

I am well. We are pleased to hear you are well, now let me roll out the red carpet for thee and get this train a-rollin’

Wonderful, I love red *grin*

Kongregate red?

All red. But yes, Kong has a pleasing shade as well, heh.

Oooh. Pretty. Now, on to the questions. First, where’d your name originate from?

Years ago I started playing Ultima Online. My brother played already and had a character with the last name of Talren. I created the Malkes part myself. Since then I’ve kind of assumed the “Malkes” name as myself while online. I have used it pretty much in any game/forum/chatroom that I have been in since.
It just kind of rolls off the tongue, heh.

Cool beans, but I have always wondered one thing… How do you pronounce that?

Mal (As in the name Al with an M) – Kiss (or Kes like Kestral). Either is acceptable.
So, you mentioned ultima online. Do you play many games outside of kongregate?
Well, currently I play World of Warcraft. Before that was Ultima Online. I’m actually not that fond of the “pay to play” concept, but in the case of those games, I found that the cost was worth the amount of time that they allow me to kill while still feeling like I’m “progressing”. However, the majority of my gaming time is spent on Kongregate.

So, you mentioned ultima online. Do you play many games outside of kongregate?

Well, currently I play World of Warcraft. Before that was Ultima Online. I’m actually not that fond of the “pay to play” concept, but in the case of those games, I found that the cost was worth the amount of time that they allow me to kill while still feeling like I’m “progressing”. However, the majority of my gaming time is spent on Kongregate.

ooh, so do you have a favorite game?

Hmm. For Kong it’s hard to say. There are many games out there that have the mark of having the developer actually caring how it turns out. I’m fond of games like DTD 1.5 and the Mardek rpg series.

Outside of?

for games outside of Kong: I am particularly fond of Final Fantasy games, right now, particularly, of the ones that I can play on my Nintendo DS. Love the portability, heh.

Oh, joy, isn’t there a new one out?

Aye, I have been playing the heck out of it too, heh. FF Tactics Advance 2. Quite a mouthful, eh?

Not as much as tom clancy’s ghost recon advanced warfighter 

Hehe, touche!

How do you compare mardek and FF, If at all?

Well, I like that Mardek is a nostalgic throw-back to some of the original rpg games that I grew up playing, like FF and Dragon Warrior. I think that based on the constraints of a flash game, Mardek is excellent and has a good bit of humor as well.

That’s a good point there

In short, I like the quality of Mardek without having the backing of a major game producer, heh.

Any areas outside of rpg’s in gaming you like?

Well, I like all kinds of genres. I can play a sidescroller, FPS, real time strategy game, etc without having any real difficulty in “getting into it”. It’s all just about what I feel like playing at the time.

Same here. Time to move out of games and into… mod questions!

So, I am understanding that you haven’t been modding for long.

No. I’ve only had mod status since June 25th or so. I am a recent addition to the current mod staff

And bleachers is the room, right?

Aye, that is my common place to be while on Kong. I will make trips to other rooms if someone shows up saying that moderation is needed in another room, though.
And I will sometimes use an alt account to spot-check random rooms, to see if everything is going alright

Yes, and you were a regular there before?

Aye. When I first came to Kongregate I was randomly placed into The Bleachers chat. I liked many of the people that I saw there, and so, started making it my regular hang out.

What is your favorite part of modding?

Well, to be honest, there is very little that’s “fun” about modding. As far as anything I like about it: I just like being able to help ensure a more pleasing experience for the other users in a given chat room. To help reduce the “trolling” element that often comes with being in a room.

So I take it that you have a least favorite part. Care to tell?

Well, despite how annoying a user might be, and how deserving of a temporary ban they may be, it’s not really pleasing to have to ban someoneAlso, there are sometimes users, fully deserving of bans, that feel like they have been “wronged” by a moderator. Which, until the full facts are found out by a higher up, brings your own judgement into question.

Well, its all quite troubling. So, do you moderate elsewhere?

On Kongregate, I will sometimes go to other rooms. Outside of Kong, not currently. A few years ago I used to have site staff/moderation duties on a site about Ultima Online. There making decisions to ban a user were even harder, because it wasn’t just an hour/day/week ban. We had the power to fully ban someone from ever being on there.

If you had to choose, where would you rather mod?

Hmmm, that’s a tough one. Preferably, I would like to not have to mod at all. But, given that people will cause problems no matter what, I like to think that just having a moderator presence in a room helps cull a lot of the bad behavior. Many times a user will cause problems and be asked to stop by a non-mod user, and will continue, but when asked by a mod, they often will stop the actions. I would rather there not be a NEED for mods. Since there is, and always will be a need for them, I’m happy to do what I can to keep people from verbally bashing each others heads in, heh.

Hehe, trivial pursuits and all that.

Hehe

So, enough about the moddingz?
So, I hear you are from georgia. And it’s summer, isn’t it?

Aye, it’s summer. Been a pretty warm one at that.
I go outside and my skin literally melts from my body. I’m sitting here with no skin right now, in fact. Heh

Have you ever gotten any “Devil went down to georgia” jokes? And its hot in chicago too…

Actually, I haven’t really gotten many comments like that, heh. *shifty eyes* Although I love the song, heh.

Do you have a profession?

Not so much a “profession” as a “hopeful desire”. I am hoping to become a published author.

interesting! What do you like writing about? Fiction?

I’ve always been fond of the literary device of “many earths with a few differences”. I like to say “ok, what if it was earth, but THIS was different” and then create a story from there. But yes, fiction is my forte. Sometimes just basic fiction, but often sci-fi/fantasy

Well, any favorite hobbies outside of kong?

Hmm. I am an avid reader. I have a thing for Sudoku puzzles as well. For non-solo activities I see a lot of movies. I also spend a lot of time out at bars, heh.

Sounds fun.

I am all out of ammo, thanks for the interview! Got anyone you want to shout out to?

Thanks for the interest, heh. It was a pleasure.

Hmm, I could say hi to all my Bleachers people…but I won’t. Can’t let them get big heads, ya know? Heh

You mean, bigger, right?

“You’ve just been interviewed by doctormarmalade, what are you going to do now?” “I’m going to Disney World!”

Hehe, yeah. That Alcibiades guy does have a pretty big head, eh?

I think that that is a very good note to end on.

Explore posts in the same categories: Interviews

2 Comments on “Interview with malkes”

  1. Big Head Says:

    Big heads just mean that there is a high IQ possibility. w00t for big heads.

  2. Less is More Says:

    Any longer and it would have been published as a Ph.D thesis.


Leave a Reply

